An Unwelcome Snacker

Lisa Dexter
2 min readDec 8, 2021

What happens when you put out snacks and don't specify intended recipients

Caught in the act — image and edits provided by author

In the weeks leading up to last Christmas, we had delivery people stopping by at least a few times a day. We weren’t alone. With many people turning to online ordering to avoid shopping with others, all of the neighborhood porches were stacked high, and the delivery folks seemed worn out. My husband and I decided to put out a bowl of candy and some bottled water on the porch with a thank you note. The snacks were popular, but love soon turned to obsession in one case.

Nuts for nuts

After hearing a few strange noises coming from the porch one day, I poked my head out the window and was surprised to see a squirrel on the table with the snacks. The sweet darling looked like a well-behaved, angelic forest creature, so I went about my business until a few minutes later when there was an even louder noise. I checked my see-all doorbell footage and found out that squirrels love Snickers bars. His unabashed adoration kept the little guy coming back for more. Luckily, we had a plan.

We ditched the cute little candy-holding bucket for a plastic storage tub with a lid and attached a note requesting that any candy seekers put back the top after they grabbed a snack. That lasted a day or so before our furry buddies (yep, we’re plural now) made their thoughts…

--

--

Lisa Dexter

I am a freelance writer from the Chicago area. I have one awesome child, one sweet husband, one clingy cat, and one website: www.thinkingwhiletyping.com.